Hornbach has new Supervisory Board members

Landau in der Pfalz/Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, July 6, 2018.

The Supervisory Boards of Hornbach Holding AG & Co. KGaA and Hornbach Baumarkt AG were newly elected at this year’s Annual General Meetings. Two longstanding members, Dr. Wolfgang Rupf and Joerg Walter Sost, did not stand for re-election for age reasons. Dr. John Feldmann, a former Executive Board member at BASF SE, is the new Supervisory Board Chairman at Hornbach Holding AG & Co. KGaA. With Simone Krah, Melanie Thomann-Bopp and Dr. Susanne Wulfsberg, women account for half the Supervisory Board members at Hornbach Holding AG & Co. KGaA. At Hornbach Baumarkt AG, Vanessa Stützle and Melanie Thomann-Bopp were elected as shareholder representatives to the Supervisory Board.

Dr. Rupf was Chairman of the first Supervisory Board of Hornbach Aktiengesellschaft (now: Hornbach Holding AG & Co. KGaA) from its IPO in 1987 until 1995 and also helped shape the IPO of Hornbach Baumarkt AG in 1993. He was Deputy Supervisory Board Chairman of the Hornbach Group’s parent company from 1998 through to 2008 before assuming the Chairmanship once again. On the Supervisory Board of Hornbach Baumarkt AG, he held the positions of Chairman and Deputy Chairman on an alternating basis from 1998 onwards. “There are very few people who experienced our company so closely and played such a key role in shaping its development in decisive phases”, remarked Albrecht Hornbach, CEO of Hornbach Management AG, in recognition of the contribution made by Dr. Rupf.

The Annual General Meetings held on July 5 and 6 also took leave of Joerg Walter Sost, a member of the Supervisory Boards of both companies since 2012, where he contributed his longstanding management experience, particularly with regard to family-managed companies.

Dr. Rupf has been succeeded in the role of Supervisory Board Chairman of Hornbach Holding AG & Co. KGaA by Dr. John Feldmann, a member of the Supervisory Board since 2014. Members newly elected to the Supervisory Board are Simone Krah, Managing President of MMM-Club (Moderne Markt-Methoden) e. V., and Melanie Thomann-Bopp, Chief Financial Officer of Sonova Retail Deutschland GmbH.

Members newly elected to represent shareholders on the Supervisory Board of Hornbach Baumarkt AG are Vanessa Stützle, Managing Director of E-Commerce/ Omni-Channel at Parfümerie Douglas GmbH, and Melanie Thomann-Bopp. There were also changes in the employee representatives. Monika Silvestre, Martin Fischer, Kerstin Holfert, and Michael Reiland have been succeeded by the new Supervisory Board members Markus Lass, Jörg Manns, Anke Matrose, and Johannes Otto.

The following Supervisory Board members were elected for the term through to 2023:

HORNBACH Holding AG & Co. KGaA
Dr. John Feldmann (Chairman)
Martin Hornbach (Deputy Chairman)
Erich Harsch
Simone Krah*
Melanie Thomann-Bopp*
Dr. Susanne Wulfsberg

Shareholder representatives:Employee representatives:
Albrecht Hornbach (Chairman)Kay Strelow (Deputy Chairman)
Dr. John Feldmann (Deputy Chairman)Mohamed Elaouch
Erich HarschChristian Garrecht
Georg HornbachMarkus Lass*
Martin HornbachJörg Manns*
Vanessa Stützle*Anke Matrose*
Melanie Thomann-Bopp*Brigitte Mauer
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens P. WulfsbergJohannes Otto*

* new Supervisory Board member

Download: DOCX (102.70 kB)


Tags:rutrum, faucibus, dolor, auctor




Contact person

Antje Kelbert
Head of Communications
and Investor Relations

T +49 (0) 6348-60-2444

F +49 (0) 6348-60-4299

Share price

We use a third-party service to embed stock quotes and the stock chart. This service may collect data about your activities. Please accept to view this content.



  • Managers Transactions: Hornbach Baumarkt AG // Albrecht Hornbach

  • Directors Dealings: Hornbach Holding AG & Co. KGaA // Albrecht Hornbach



DZ BANK Equity Conference


Order service Newsletter

Media center