dcsimg
stage

Recycling concept

Raising in-house recycling with compressors

Given the increasing scarcity of resources, a commitment to the environment in today's world would be unthinkable without recycling. To minimize the number of journeys required, HORNBACH’s stores and logistics centers use compressors for high-volume waste, such as paper and plastics. An all-round waste concept promotes the separation, and thus recycling, of recyclable fractions as secondary commodities, while also helping to reduce the volume of non-recyclable waste.

Disposal of old electrical appliances

Our customers in Germany are able to deposit broken energy-saving light bulbs, LEDs, and luminescent tubes free of charge in suitable containers at the stores. With this service introduced in November 2011 already, back then on a voluntary basis, HORNBACH makes it easier for consumers to dispose of these items during its usual opening hours, which are significantly more generous than at municipal collection points. Since 2013, HORNBACH has played a leading role in the framework negotiated by the BHB DIY sector association and the VKU municipal company association. This involves accepting old or broken small electrical appliances, such as drills, fret saws, and battery-powered drills, as well as non-DIY products such as shavers and toasters, in normal household volumes. No proof of purchase or similar documentation is needed. The old appliances accepted are collected free of charge by municipal disposal companies. The aim here is also to protect the environment and avoid such products being illegally disposed of in normal household waste. Due to the voluntary measures already in place, we were well prepared for the mandatory acceptance of old electrical appliances since introduced by law.

Reference partner for uniform collection point logo

A joint initiative between retailers and local councils has introduced a uniform, voluntary logo for collection points for old electrical appliances and batteries. This labeling scheme is mainly intended to offer useful guidance to consumers. HORNBACH also played its part in this initiative and is one of the very first reference partners.

You can find the press release on the introduction of the uniform logos for old electrical appliances and batteries here: PDF (262.50 kB)

Online recycling portal for stores and logistics centers

Numerous different types of waste arise at our HORNBACH DIY megastores with garden centers. To simplify the disposal of this waste, in 2015 HORNBACH launched its own web-based recycling portal. This option for ordering and organizing the collection of disposal containers was initially launched in the Netherlands, parts of Germany, and Austria. Today, the portal is used by 180 locations in six countries.

Expansion in proprietary resource collection activities

In the 2014/15 financial year, we began using special trucks, HORNBACH’s “Resource Liners”, to organize the proprietary collection of resources from our stores. The HORNBACH Resource Liners are now on the road in large parts of Germany, as well as in Austria, the Netherlands, Sweden, Luxembourg, and Switzerland. These enable us to collect large volumes of resources at the stores and then to deliver them to the desired recycling locations, such as paper factories. HORNBACH can thus ensure that further processing of the resources takes place directly. A further benefit is that these trucks – when they are not loaded with resources – can be integrated into the store supply network. This way, empty runs can be avoided and stores located on the trucks' disposal routes can be supplied with the necessary merchandise. This concept is permanently being extended.

Related Topics

Share price

News

  • Erich Harsch to be new Chief Executive Officer of Hornbach Baumarkt AG

  • Ad-Hoc announcement by HORNBACH Baumarkt AG: Erich Harsch to be new CEO of HORNBACH Baumarkt AG as of January 1, 2020

Contact

Calendar

HORNBACH Holding
Half-Year Financial Report 2019/2020 as of August 31, 2019
HORNBACH Baumarkt
Half-Year Financial Report 2019/2020 as of August 31, 2019

Mediaservices

RSS Order service Newsletter

Media center

dcsimg
stage

Recycling bei HORNBACH

Eigene Recyclingquote steigern durch Ballenpressen

Umweltengagement ist heute, auch unter dem Gesichtspunkt knapper werdender Ressourcen, nicht mehr denkbar ohne Recycling. Um die Anzahl der Transporte so gering wie möglich zu halten, werden in den HORNBACH-Märkten und Logistikzentren für die volumenstarken Fraktionen Papier und Kunststoff Ballenpressen eingesetzt. Ein ganzheitliches Abfallkonzept fördert das Trennen und damit die Wiederverwertung der Wertstoffe als Sekundärrohstoffe und verringert gleichzeitig die Menge nicht verwertbarer Stoffe.

Entsorgung von Elektro-Altgeräten

Unsere Kunden in Deutschland haben die Möglichkeit, kaputte Energiesparlampen, LEDs und Leuchtstoffröhren in entsprechenden Sammelboxen im Markt kostenlos abzugeben. Mit dieser bereits im November 2011 eingeführten – damals noch freiwilligen – Leistung erleichtert HORNBACH den Konsumenten die Entsorgung zu den üblichen Öffnungszeiten, die wesentlich großzügiger sind als die der kommunalen Sammelstellen. Seit 2013 beteiligt sich HORNBACH federführend an der von den beiden Verbänden BHB und dem „Verband kommunaler Unternehmen“ (VKU) verhandelten Rahmenbedingung. Hierbei werden alte oder defekte Elektrokleingeräte wie Bohrmaschinen, Stichsägen, Akkubohrer sowie auch baumarktfremde Produkte wie z.B. Rasierer und Toaster in haushaltsüblichen Mengen zurückgenommen. Ein Kaufnachweis o.ä. ist hier nicht notwendig. Die gesammelten Elektroaltgeräte werden von kommunalen Entsorgungsunternehmen kostenlos abgeholt. Ziel ist es, auch damit einen Beitrag zum Schutz der Umwelt zu leisten und zu verhindern, dass solche Produkte widerrechtlich über den Hausmüll entsorgt werden. Auf die vom Gesetzgeber erlassene verpflichtende Rücknahme von Elektroaltgeräten waren wir durch die vorangegangenen freiwilligen Maßnahmen gut vorbereitet.

Referenzpartner für einheitliches Sammelstellenlogo

Eine gemeinsame Initiative von Handel und Kommunen hat im November 2018 ein einheitliches, freiwilliges Logo der Sammelstellen für Elektro-Altgeräte und Batterien eingeführt. Diese Kennzeichnung soll vor allem eine hilfreiche Orientierung für Verbraucher sein, die Altgeräte entsorgen möchten. Auch HORNBACH hat an dieser Initiative mitgewirkt und ist ein Referenzpartner der ersten Stunde.

Die Pressemitteilung zur Einführung des einheitlichen Logos für Elektro-Altgeräte und Batterien finden Sie hier: PDF (262,50 kB)

Online-Recyclingportal für Märkte und Logistikzentren

In unseren HORNBACH Bau- und Gartenmärkten fallen eine Vielzahl von verschiedenen Abfallarten an. Zur Vereinfachung der Entsorgung betreibt HORNBACH seit 2015 ein eigenes internetbasiertes Recyclingportal. Zunächst war diese Art der Bestellung und Abfuhr von Entsorgungsbehältern in den Niederlanden, in Teilen Deutschlands und Österreich eingeführt worden. Heute wird das Portal von 180 Anfallstellen in sechs Ländern genutzt.

Ausbau der eigenen Wertstoffabholung

Im Geschäftsjahr 2014/2015 starteten wir mit unseren HORNBACH-Wertstofflinern die eigene Abholung der Wertstoffe aus unseren Filialen. Die HORNBACH-Wertstoffliner fahren in weiten Teilen Deutschlands, in Österreich, den Niederlanden, in Schweden, Luxemburg und der Schweiz. Dadurch sind wir in der Lage, große Mengen an Wertstoffen in den Märkten abzuholen und an den gewünschten Recyclingort wie zum Beispiel Papierfabriken zu liefern. HORNBACH stellt so sicher, dass eine Weiterverarbeitung auf direktem Weg erfolgen kann. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist, dass diese Lkw – sofern sie keine Wertstoffe geladen haben – in das Marktbelieferungsnetz eingebunden sind. So werden Leerfahrten vermieden und Märkte, die ohnehin auf der Entsorgungsroute des Lkw liegen, können mit notwendigen Waren versorgt werden. Dieses Konzept wird ständig erweitert.

Verwandte Themen

Aktienkurs

News

  • Ad-hoc-Mitteilung der HORNBACH Baumarkt AG: Unerwarteter Ergebnisrückgang im dritten Quartal 2018/19 trotz erfreulicher Umsatzzuwächse – Ertragsprognose wird angepasst

  • Ad-hoc-Mitteilung der HORNBACH Holding AG & Co. KGaA: Unerwarteter Ergebnisrückgang im dritten Quartal 2018/19 trotz erfreulicher Umsatzzuwächse – Ertragsprognose wird angepasst

Kontakt

Kalender

HORNBACH Holding
Mitteilung 3. Quartal 2018/2019 zum 30. November 2018
HORNBACH Baumarkt
Mitteilung 3. Quartal 2018/2019 zum 30. November 2018

Mediaservices

RSS Bestellservice Newsletter

Mediathek