dcsimg
stage

"A matter of decency"

Mr. Hornbach, family companies often think they are per se sustainable. Is it really that simple?

Albrecht Hornbach: I know where they are coming from, but you are right: It really is not that simple. Sustainability has far more dimensions than just consistency. We too have shown consistent growth, even if not always as smoothly as the capital market would like. In this respect, a stock market listing also has disadvantages, as companies are far too often assessed on their short-term results. That does not sound sustainable, does it? Having said that, the fact that HORNBACH’s management is securely in family hands guarantees a certain independence. It enables us to look beyond individual quarters, focus on what really matters, and think in terms of generations.

What does sustainability mean for HORNBACH?

Albrecht Hornbach: At HORNBACH, we talk about responsibility and a sense of responsibility – not sustainability. After all, the term “sustainability” is everywhere and currently very fashionable. That is why we avoid it. We rather focus on the virtues of a “reputable businessman” – fairness, integrity, sincerity, and reliability. These virtues engender trust in HORNBACH and enable us to create longterm value. That might sound a little old-fashioned, but it is still relevant today. For us, that is the core of sustainability.

Susanne Jäger: We are a retail company, so our key focus is on structuring our product range, i.e. the products we offer to our customers. We have set ourselves the standard and target of only selling products that actually convince us. Safety, quality, and usefulness are the top priorities here. It goes without saying that our customers’ needs are very important to us. Within the limits set by our convictions, their demand therefore determines our supply. Of course, there are other important aspects as well, such as the resources we use when building and operating our sites or our logistics. For us, acting with a sense of responsibility is a matter of decency.

Albrecht Hornbach: We are undergoing a process of transformation. The digitalization of our daily lives has also left its mark on the workplace. We have noticed that this process has occasionally led to insecurities among our colleagues. One of our main tasks here is therefore to make sure we maintain a good working environment for all our employees. After all, we know we need satisfied employees if we are to inspire our customers.

How many employees deal with this topic, or are you – Ms. Jäger and Mr. Hornbach – lone wolves when it comes to this?

Susanne Jäger: We are certainly not lone wolves! There is no way that could work in a company of this size. In strictly organizational terms, this topic is mainly handled by the “Quality Management, Environmental Issues, and CSR” team at the Baumarkt Group. Having said that, we also have another key advantage. Many aspects of what is now known as Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) have been in place at HORNBACH for many years. Previously, though, we referred to them as “common sense”. CSR components are anchored throughout our company, with different focuses in different areas, of course. In some cases, the motivation is economic efficiency, which then enables us to save energy as well. That is the ideal case. But there are also topics where social or environmental factors are the driving force – when it comes to structuring our product range, for example. In those cases, we are also prepared to accept temporary economic drawbacks.

What are HORNBACH’s most important sustainability targets?

Susanne Jäger: Put simply, I would say to become even better – and that in all our activities. That means more cost-efficient and more resource-effective, while always remaining a reliable partner to our employees, customers, and business partners.

Albrecht Hornbach: The targets we set are qualitative, not quantitative. You can always meet quotas in purely numerical terms. Whether that helps the company is another matter. On the other hand, qualitative targets are often misunderstood, as if they were somehow less challenging. That is certainly not how we see it.

Based on school grades of 1 (best) to 6 (worst) – how well is HORNBACH implementing its targets?

Albrecht Hornbach: I would award us a “2”. I am convinced that many things already work very well at our company, particularly in our focus areas of procurement and employees. But there is always room for improvement, of course. And when we look at different European countries, we also see the differences in what our customers, employees, and business partners expect of us and how they perceive our efforts.

What particular differences do you see in the various European countries?

Albrecht Hornbach: When I look at the countries where HORNBACH operates, I basically see more commonalities than differences. In terms of regional product mixes, however, the rate of home ownership does make a difference. People who own their own properties make different investment decisions from those who are tenants.

Susanne Jäger: Requirements also vary widely between individual countries. In Switzerland, for example, lawmakers and consumer organizations require a particularly high level of transparency when it comes to sustainability. Among other aspects, that involves labeling products and including information about their origins, components and contents. We then have to make sure we at least meet these requirements. That kind of requirement also influences customers’ awareness of sustainable product ranges.

Albrecht Hornbach: And the debate surrounding sustainability takes place in all kinds of different ways. That is why it is very important for us to be in dialog with our customers throughout Europe. But our interest does not just stop there. What do our employees think about these things? And what about our suppliers, capital providers, the media, and environmental protection associations? Maintaining an ongoing dialog with all our stakeholders is the only way to check again and again that we are still on the right course.

Where do you see the greatest challenges – or opportunities – for the future?

Albrecht Hornbach: Developments within society in the countries where we operate clearly show the way forward. People’s awareness of CSR is rising all the time. Surveys and references abound on so-called LOHAS (Lifestyle of Health and Sustainability). Members of the Y and Z generations are mostly also very sensitive to sustainability issues. For HORNBACH, that means we have to make sure we always think one step ahead so as to satisfy consumers’ rising standards – and that will be what counts most in future as well.

Susanne Jäger: At present, we are giving a great deal of thought to issues such as waste avoidance. How can we reduce the volume of packaging we use, for example? And then there is recycling and upcycling. Why not make new products out of old materials and offer these to our customers? That also means making sure that the products and packaging on offer at our stores are easily recycled. It is a complex cycle. Not least, we also have to maintain transparent supply chains in future as well. That will remain a challenging task.

Albrecht Hornbach: We are noticing that in our recruitment as well. Applicants often specifically ask about CSR topics. The younger generations want to work for companies whose values they share. And who is better placed to communicate that than our colleagues? They are our source of pride, they inspire our customers, and they earn the money. Our job is to support them in their work – and even outside work – and that too presents a fantastic opportunity for the future. All in line with our motto: “There’s always a job to be done”.

Thanks for your thoughts!

More about this in the HORNBACH Sustainability Magazine, PDF (8.13 MB) .

Related Topics

Share price

News

  • Ad-Hoc announcement by HORNBACH Baumarkt AG: CEO Steffen Hornbach wishes to stand down at end of year

  • Ad-hoc announcement: Board of Management resolves share buyback for employee share program

Contact

Calendar

HORNBACH Holding
Half-Year Financial Report 2019/2020 as of August 31, 2019
HORNBACH Baumarkt
Half-Year Financial Report 2019/2020 as of August 31, 2019

Mediaservices

RSS Order service Newsletter

Media center

dcsimg
stage

"Eine Sache des Anstands"

Herr Hornbach, Familienunternehmen glauben ja oft, von Natur aus nachhaltig zu sein. Ist es wirklich so einfach?

Albrecht Hornbach: Den Trugschluss kann ich verstehen. Aber soeinfach ist es natürlich nicht. Nachhaltig sein hat ja bei weitem nicht nur etwas mit Beständigkeit zu tun. Wir wachsen beständig, wenn auch vielleicht nicht so gleichmäßig, wie der Kapitalmarkt sich das manchmal wünscht. Die Börsennotierung hat in dieser Hinsicht auch Nachteile, denn man wird allzu oft an kurzfristigen Ergebnissen gemessen. Das klingt erstmal wenig nachhaltig, oder? Aber die gesicherte Familienführung von HORNBACH ist unser Garant für eine gewisse Unabhängigkeit. Das ermöglicht uns, den Blick über Quartale hinweg auf das große Ganze zu richten und in Generationen zu denken.

Was bedeutet Nachhaltigkeit für HORNBACH?

Albrecht Hornbach: Bei HORNBACH reden wir von Verantwortung und Verantwortungsbewusstsein – nicht von Nachhaltigkeit. Denn der Begriff wird viel zu häufig benutzt und ist aktuell sehr en vogue. Deshalb meiden wir ihn. Wir orientieren uns da eher an den Tugenden des Ehrbaren Kaufmanns: Fairness, Integrität, Aufrichtigkeit und Zuverlässigkeit. Diese Tugenden schaffen Vertrauen in HORNBACH und ermöglichen uns eine langfristige Wertschöpfung. Das klingt vielleicht ein bisschen altertümlich, trifft es aber heute noch immer. Das ist für uns der Kern von Nachhaltigkeit.

Susanne Jäger: Als Handelsunternehmen liegt unser Fokus auf unserer Sortimentsgestaltung, also den Produkten die wir unseren Kundinnen und Kunden anbieten. Es ist unser Anspruch und unser Ziel, nur Produkte zu verkaufen, von denen wir überzeugt sind. Und da stehen Sicherheit, Qualität und Nutzen ganz oben. Dabei sind uns natürlich die Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden sehr wichtig. Im Rahmen unserer Überzeugungen bestimmt also die Nachfrage unser Angebot. Aber es gibt natürlich noch weitere wichtige Bereiche. Unsere Ressourcennutzung beim Bauen und Betreiben unserer Gebäude zum Beispiel, oder die Logistik. Verantwortungsbewusst zu handeln ist für uns eine Sache des Anstands.

Albrecht Hornbach: Wir sind im Wandel begriffen. Die Digitalisierung unseres Lebensumfelds macht auch vor den Arbeitsplätzen nicht Halt. Wir spüren, dass das auch bei unseren Kolleginnen und Kollegen manchmal zu Verunsicherung führt. Es ist deshalb eine unserer Hauptaufgaben, dass die gute Arbeitsumgebung für alle erhalten bleibt. Denn uns ist klar, dass nur zufriedene Mitarbeiter unsere Kunden begeistern können.

Wie viele Mitarbeiter kümmern sich um das Thema - oder sind Sie beide, Frau Jäger mit Herrn Hornbach eher Einzelkämpfer?

Susanne Jäger: Nein, wir sind keinesfalls Einzelkämpfer. Das geht bei einer so großen Organisation auch gar nicht. Rein organisatorisch liegt der Hauptauftrag bei unserem Team „Qualitätsmanagement, Umwelt und CSR“ im Baumarkt-Konzern. Unser großer Vorteil ist aber sicher, dass vieles, was heute unter dem Begriff Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) verstanden wird, bei HORNBACH schon seit Jahren umgesetzt wird. Nur eher unter dem Aspekt „gesunder Menschenverstand“. Die Bestandteile von CSR sind bei uns überall verankert. Natürlich mit unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten. Manchmal ist Wirtschaftlichkeit Vater des Gedankens und unterm Strich sparen wir damit auch noch Energie – das ist optimal. Aber es gibt auch Themen, da stehen gesellschaftliche oder Umweltinteressen im Vordergrund – bei der Gestaltung unseres Sortiments beispielsweise, wo wir vorübergehend auch wirtschaftliche Nachteile in Kauf nehmen.

Was sind die wichtigsten Nachhaltigkeitsziele von HORNBACH?

Susanne Jäger: Kurz und knapp würde ich sagen: besser werden – und zwar in jedem Bereich. Das heißt kosteneffizienter, ressourcenschonender und dabei immer ein verlässlicher Partner für unsere Mitarbeiter, unsere Kunden und Geschäftspartner zu sein.

Albrecht Hornbach: Wir setzen unsere Ziele qualitativ, nicht quantitativ. Quoten kann man rechnerisch immer irgendwie erfüllen, wobei dahingestellt sei, ob das Erfüllen dem Unternehmen auch etwas bringt. Qualitative Ziele werden dagegen leider oft missverstanden. So, als wären sie weniger anspruchsvoll. Das sehen wir keinesfalls so.

Auf einer Schulnoten-Skala von 1 bis 6 – wie gut setzt HORNBACH die eigenen Ziele schon um?

Albrecht Hornbach: Da geben wir uns mal eine 2. Ich bin überzeugt, dass bei uns einiges schon sehr gut läuft, gerade bei unseren beiden Schwerpunktthemen Beschaffung und Mitarbeiter. Aber es gibt bekanntlich immer Luft nach oben. Gerade im europäischen Vergleich sehen wir auch, wie unterschiedlich unsere Bemühungen von Kunden, Mitarbeitern und Geschäftspartnern eingefordert und wahrgenommen werden.

Wo sehen Sie im europäischen Vergleich denn die besonderen Unterschiede?

Albrecht Hornbach: Also grundsätzlich sehe ich in den Ländern, in denen Hornbach vertreten ist, mehr Gemeinsamkeiten als Unterschiede. Aber bezogen auf den jeweiligen regionalen Sortimentsmix macht es zum Beispiel einen Unterschied, ob es in einem Land viele Eigenheimbesitzer oder wenige gibt. Wer eine Immobilie besitzt und nicht nur mietet, der investiert auch anders.

Susanne Jäger: Auch die Anforderungen der Länder sind durchaus unterschiedlich. In der Schweiz zum Beispiel verlangen Gesetzgeber und auch Verbraucherverbände eine ganz besondere Transparenz in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit. Da geht es unter anderem um die Kennzeichnung von Produkten, deren Herkunft und Bestandteile sowie Inhaltsstoffe. Unsere Pflicht ist es, diese Anforderungen mindestens zu erfüllen. So etwas beeinflusst auch das Bewusstsein der Kunden für nachhaltige Sortimente.

Albrecht Hornbach: Und der öffentliche Diskurs zu den Nachhaltigkeitsthemen wird unterschiedlich geführt. Deshalb ist es für uns sehr wichtig, europaweit mit unseren Kunden ins Gespräch zu kommen. An diesem Punkt hört unser Interesse aber nicht auf: Was denken unsere Mitarbeiter darüber? Was unsere Lieferanten, Kapitalgeber, die Medien oder Umweltschutzverbände? Nur durch den fortlaufenden Dialog mit allen Stakeholdern können wir immer wieder überprüfen, ob die Weichen noch richtig gestellt sind.

Wo sehen Sie künftig die größten Herausforderungen – oder auch Chancen?

Albrecht Hornbach: Die gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen in unserem Verbreitungsgebiet zeigen uns klar den Weg, denn das Bewusstsein für CSR-Themen steigt immer weiter. Da gibt es zahlreiche Erhebungen und Verweise auf die sogenannten LOHAS (Lifestyle of Health and Sustainability). Aber auch die Generationen Y und Z sind größtenteils sehr sensibel für Nachhaltigkeitsthemen. Für HORNBACH heißt das: Wir müssen auch weiterhin immer einen Schritt weiter denken, um den steigenden Anforderungen der Verbraucher gerecht zu werden – das wird auch in Zukunft das Wichtigste sein.

Susanne Jäger: Aktuell treiben uns Themen wie die Vermeidung von Abfall um: Wie können wir beispielsweise Verpackungsmaterial reduzieren? Oder auch die Themen Re- und Upcycling. Warum nicht aus alten Materialien neue Produkte herstellen und unseren Kundinnen und Kunden anbieten? Dazu gehört auch, darauf zu achten, dass die von uns angebotenen Produkte und Verpackungen leicht zu recyceln sind. Das ist ein komplexer Kreislauf. Und zu guter Letzt gilt es, die Lieferketten transparent zu halten. Das wird eine anspruchsvolle Aufgabe bleiben.

Albrecht Hornbach: Das merken wir auch beim Recruiting. Da wird teilweise gezielt nach CSR-Themen gefragt. Die jüngeren Generationen wollen für ein Unternehmen arbeiten, dessen Werte sie teilen. Und wer könnte das besser vermitteln als unsere Kolleginnen und Kollegen? Sie sind unser Aushängeschild, sie begeistern unsere Kunden und sie sind es, die das Geld verdienen. Sie bei ihrer Arbeit zu unterstützen – und sogar darüber hinaus – ist unser Anspruch und für die Zukunft eine riesengroße Chance. Da gibt’s eben auch immer was zu tun.

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch.

Mehr dazu im HORNBACH Nachhaltigkeitsmagazin, PDF (7,76 MB) .

Verwandte Themen

Aktienkurs

News

  • Wohntrends stilsicher umsetzen

  • Ein System für alle smarten Projekte

Kontakt

Kalender

HORNBACH Holding
Halbjahresfinanzbericht 2018/2019 zum 31. August 2018
HORNBACH Baumarkt
Halbjahresfinanzbericht 2018/2019 zum 31. August 2018

Mediaservices

RSS Bestellservice Newsletter

Mediathek